Third Lecture

Third Lecture

The main issue I identified and sympathized with in Ian Penman’s writing, On The Mic; How Amplification Changed The Voice For Good was that the microphone can tell lies. I was very nervous about my abilities as a singer in this module whilst preparing to record my track. Using auto-tune was definitely not an avenue I wanted to navigate but using treatment of the vocals I think the end result is acceptable. The simplicity of adding a dash of reverb really does create space for the vocals to move within. In this sense yes, the microphone is telling a lie and so is the software, the correct response is to improve the vocalist but I wanted this piece to be a personal yardstick by which to measure myself in future.

Leave a Reply

